Why I Wear Makeup

Hello lovelies!

I want to start this by apologising big time for the delay on this post! I’ve had a super busy week working at a local photography company doing 8 and a half hours a day (which I’m not used to as I’m usually at school!!) so I’ve felt rushed and with no time to spare! But nevertheless here’s the post better late than never!!

I wanted to share a different type of post with you all this week as it’s something I’ve been thinking about recently. As many of you lovelies do, I wear makeup regularly and it’s always something that I’ve just seen done but I wanted to ask myself why do I do it?

I’ve worn some kind of makeup since about the age of 12. I started with the normal cheapy lipsticks then progressing through the cycles of poor quality makeup, heavy black eyeliner and then finally finding those holy grail products! I know that I used to wear makeup because everyone else was and I know many people who did a similar thing. However, why I wear makeup really has changed over the 5/6 years of wearing it. Nowadays I don’t wear makeup on an everyday basis, especially during term time as I find it a lot easier to be bare-faced during lessons, but I do wear some kind of makeup on a regular basis. It’s usually some kind of concealer, brow product and mascara during the day because I definitely don’t like the feel of heavy makeup on the face!

Anyway onto why I wear makeup now! On a daily basis when I wear minimal makeup, it’s definitely just a little bit of enhancement that adds to my confidence. I don’t need makeup to be confident at all as I regularly go without it but due to acne-prone skin, sometimes I need a bit of a boost using my makeup to cover the redness in my skin. Luckily this is much less of an issue these days but I still use makeup in this way. Another reason why I wear makeup is because I can be experimental with it. Makeup can be seen as an art form in my opinion so I love to wear makeup to try out different eye looks and recreate looks. It’s always fun to spend hours trying out new things and possibly finding something amazing! The final main reason I wear makeup is that somedays/nights I like to feel extra glam with the full out eye makeup with lashes included. It’s incredibly fun to dress yourself up (even if you’re not going out anywhere!!).

So that’s all for today’s post. Sorry it’s a bit of a short (and rubbish!) post, I will hopefully be back on form very soon! In the meantime please share why you wear makeup in the comments below, I’d love to hear all your reasonings behind your love for makeup.

I hope you all have a fab week and I’ll be back in a short while I’m sure 🙂

Happy blogging!

E x

Leave a comment